Return to Campus Updates and Coronavirus Information

Honor Society & Awards

Theta Alpha Kappa is the national honor society recognizing excellence in academics for religion and theological studies.

Two students talking

National Honor Society

Theta Alpha Kappa (QAK) is the only national honor society for religion and/or theological studies at both the baccalaureate and post-baccalaureate levels. Its purpose is to honor excellence in academics—a goal Northwestern is proud to promote. Our chapter moderator is Dr. Ardel Caneday. We have inducted 83 members into our chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa.

We offer an invitation for membership in QAK to students who have:

  • completed at least three semesters at Northwestern
  • completed a minimum of twelve semester credits in religious studies/theological studies
  • attained a grade point average of at least 3.5 (B+) in such courses
  • attained at least a grade point average of 3.0 (B) in their total academic program
  • been ranked in at least the upper 35% of their class in general scholarship


Ancient & Classical Languages Award

In 2000, the department created an annual Ancient & Classical Languages award to honor an advanced language student. The winner receives a gift, a certificate, and the recognition of having his/her name engraved on a perpetual plaque displayed in Nazareth Hall. The 2020 winner is Katherine Streckert.

Zondervan Greek, Hebrew, and Theology Awards

With the intent of inspiring students in their studies, Zondervan Publishing House initiated annual award programs to recognize outstanding achievement in the study of biblical Greek and biblical Hebrew and theology. Northwestern entered into a participation agreement with Zondervan, according to which the Department of Biblical & Theological Studies establishes selection criteria and presents these awards at the yearly Honors Convocation chapel.

Winners receive a Zondervan product, a certificate, and the recognition of having his/her name engraved on a perpetual plaque displayed in the Berntsen Library. The 2020 winners are Tori Hinsverk (Greek) and Benjamin Callahan (Theology).

*Zondervan language award winners can be viewed on Zondervan Academic's blog.

Become a Student


Visit us on Campus

Schedule a Visit

Ask Questions & Connect

Contact Us